Nigeria: State Governorship Re-runs Hold Saturday

Voters in six Nigerian states - Sokoto, Kano, Adamawa, Plateau, Bauchi and Benue – return to the polls on March 23, 2019 to elect governors after elections on March 9, 2019 were declared inconclusive. This was mostly because the leading candidates’ margins of victory were less than the number of votes cancelled. In five of the six states up for supplementary polls, the main opposition People’s Democratic Party, PDP, was ahead. In the earlier polls in 29 of Nigeria’s 36 states, the ruling All Progressives’ Congress, APC took 13 states and the PDP 9.



    List is empty.

Lead a Comment

Same category