2018 World Cup Qualifiers:Last Qualified Teams This Weekend

Out of the five places reserved for Africa, only two teams have obtained their qualification tickets for the final phase of the World Cup competition.


It will be another exciting weekend for football lovers on the continent as the third and last round African qualifying tournament for the 2018 World Cup rounds off this weekend. Egypt (Group E) and Nigeria (Group B) have already qualified for the competition. The qualified teams for the three remaining groups A, C and D will be known this weekend.
In Group A, Tunisia is leading with 13 points; three points ahead of DR Congo. Tunisia only requires one point at home to Libya to make another appearance at the World Cup for the first time since 2006. In the event of a Libyan victory, the Carthage Eagles could still make it if Congo DR fails to defeat Guinea. In group C, Côte d’Ivoire will take on the Atlas Lions of Morocco at the Houphouet Boigny Stadium in Abidjan tomorrow November 11, 2017. Morocco will need to beat Côte d’Ivoire if they have to qualify while the Elephants must win if they are to top the group.
In Group D, it will be a replayed match between South Africa and Senegal today at Polokwane Stadium in South Africa. A victory for Senegal will assure the Teranga Lions of Senegal the first spot in the group and a ticket to Russia next year. A draw may also be enough for the team if the Burkina Faso-Cape Verde match ends in a stalemate in the days ahead. On the other hand, a victory for South Africa would leave all four sides in the hunt for victory with one match remaining. Algeria will play against Nigeria in Algeria today. Nigeria already qualified for the World Cup in Group B. With Egypt having earned their ticket to Russia in Group E, pride will be at stake during the two scheduled games.
As the final round of the World Cup qualifying tournament is taking place, 23 countries are already assured of their places alongside hosts Russia. In the European zone Belgium, England, France, cup holders, Germany, Iceland, Portugal, Poland, hosts, Russia, Serbia, and Spain have qualified for Russia 2018 with eight play-off teams now also confirmed. The eight teams are Switzerland, Italy, Denmark, Croatia, Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland, Sweden and Greece. The away legs of the play off took place on November 9, 2017 while the return legs will be played from November 12-14, 2017.



    List is empty.

Lead a Comment

Same category

Download the Cameroon-Tribune app

logo apps